No internet connection

Discussion about my Wifi Radio project at http://mightyohm.com/wifiradio/ or my WL-520gU talk at NOTACON.
Muffinman
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:51 pm

No internet connection

Post by Muffinman »

Hi Guys,

I'm from Germany and new in this forum. I love the Wifi Radio Project and i would like to create my own radio. I bought the asus wl520gu and i tried to flash and config openwrt on the router. I tried the tutorial from tinkernut (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bp26xFBw ... r_embedded), but it won't work. I get no internet connection when i try to update opkg.

Code: Select all

config wifi-device  wl0
        option type     broadcom
        option channel  9


        # REMOVE THIS LINE TO ENABLE WIFI:


config wifi-iface
        option device   wl0
        option network  wlan
        option mode     sta
        option ssid     MySSID
        option encryption psk2
        option key      MyKey

Code: Select all

#### VLAN configuration
config switch eth0
        option vlan0    "1 2 3 4 5*"
        option vlan1    "0 5"


#### Loopback configuration
config interface loopback
        option ifname   "lo"
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   127.0.0.1
        option netmask  255.0.0.0


#### LAN configuration
config interface lan
        option type     bridge
        option ifname   "eth0.0"
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   192.168.1.10
        option netmask  255.255.255.0
        option gateway  192.168.1.2
        option dns      8.8.8.8

Code: Select all

root@OpenWrt:~# opkg update
Downloading http://mightyohm.com/files/kamikaze-2.4/packages/mipsel/Packages.gz
wget: bad address 'mightyohm.com'
Signiture check for snapshots skipped because GPG support was not enabled in this build
Collected errors:
 * opkg_download: ERROR: Command failed with return value 1: `wget --passive-ftp    -P /tmp/opkg-JPeQJf http://mightyohm.com/files/kamikaze-2.4/packages/mipsel/Packages.gz'
Can you help me?

Greets John
jeroen94704
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:27 am
Location: Eindhoven, the Netherlands

Re: No internet connection

Post by jeroen94704 »

In the wifi config file, you need to change the "MySSID" and "MyKey" (and maybe the "encryption") settings to match your local network setup.

Jeroen
Muffinman
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: No internet connection

Post by Muffinman »

Yes i know....i removed them for this post.

The SSID is WLan - Hauss , the Key is supermann and The encryption is WPA2 CCMP.
Last edited by Muffinman on Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
jeroen94704
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:27 am
Location: Eindhoven, the Netherlands

Re: No internet connection

Post by jeroen94704 »

Whoops, sorry, I jumped to conclusions :)

Looking further, you place the wl0 device in the "wlan" network, but there is no definition for "wlan" in /etc/config/network. You need to add something about wlan there, such as (in my case):

Code: Select all

config 'interface' 'wlan'
        option 'proto' 'dhcp'
        option 'type' 'bridge'
        option 'ifname' 'wl0'
        option 'defaultroute' '0'
        option 'peerdns' '0'
Muffinman
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: No internet connection

Post by Muffinman »

Okay i edited the vi /etc/config/network, but i get no connection.

Code: Select all

root@OpenWrt:~# vi /etc/config/network

#### VLAN configuration
config switch eth0
        option vlan0    "1 2 3 4 5*"
        option vlan1    "0 5"


#### Loopback configuration
config interface loopback
        option ifname   "lo"
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   127.0.0.1
        option netmask  255.0.0.0


#### LAN configuration        
config interface lan
        option type bridge
        option ifname "eth0.0"
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   192.168.1.10
        option netmask  255.255.255.0
        option gateway  192.168.1.2
        option dns      8.8.8.8


#### WAN configuration
config interface        wan
        option ifname   "eth0.1"
        option proto    dhcp


#### WLAN configuration
config interface wlan
        option proto    dhcp
        option type     bridge
        option ifname   wl0
        option defaultroute 0
        option peerdns  0

Code: Select all


root@OpenWrt:~# vi /etc/config/wireless
config wifi-device  wl0
        option type     broadcom
        option channel  9


        # REMOVE THIS LINE TO ENABLE WIFI:


config wifi-iface
        option device   wl0
        option network  wlan
        option mode     sta
        option ssid     WLan - Hauss
        option encryption psk2
        option key      supermann

jeroen94704
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:27 am
Location: Eindhoven, the Netherlands

Re: No internet connection

Post by jeroen94704 »

Your /etc/config/wireless looks ok, although you could try wrapping your SSID in single quotes.

Here's my complete /etc/config/network, which helped someone else on this forum before:

Code: Select all

config 'switch' 'eth0'

config 'interface' 'loopback'
        option 'ifname' 'lo'
        option 'proto' 'static'
        option 'ipaddr' '127.0.0.1'
        option 'netmask' '255.0.0.0'

config 'interface' 'lan'
        option 'type' 'bridge'
        option 'ifname' 'eth0.0'
        option 'proto' 'dhcp'

config 'interface' 'wan'
        option 'ifname' 'eth0.1'
        option 'proto' 'dhcp'

config 'interface' 'wlan'
        option 'proto' 'dhcp'
        option 'type' 'bridge'
        option 'ifname' 'wl0'
        option 'defaultroute' '0'
        option 'peerdns' '0'

config 'switch_vlan' 'eth0_0'
        option 'device' 'eth0'
        option 'vlan' '0'
        option 'ports' '1 2 3 4 5'

config 'switch_vlan' 'eth0_1'
        option 'device' 'eth0'
        option 'vlan' '1'
        option 'ports' '0 5'
Muffinman
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: No internet connection

Post by Muffinman »

Thanks, do you use the router as the Wifi Radio from Jeff or as the Radio from tinkernut?
jeroen94704
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:27 am
Location: Eindhoven, the Netherlands

Re: No internet connection

Post by jeroen94704 »

Neither. I simply installed the Backfire release of OpenWrt and configured the whole thing myself. But I do use it in the same way as a music player which plays music from the local network or from an internet stream.

Jeroen
Muffinman
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: No internet connection

Post by Muffinman »

Okay. I used the openwrt-brcm-2.4-squashf.trx from http://mightyohm.com/files/kamikaze-2.4 ... uashfs.trx

I can't find the problem. Maybe my repeater is a problem or should i connect the wl520gu directly to my router?
User avatar
mightyohm
Site Admin
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: No internet connection

Post by mightyohm »

WPA2-CCMP might be the problem. Can you change your wireless network to WPA2-AES instead?

I have had problems getting OpenWRT to connect to certain WPA/WPA2 configurations. WEP pretty much always works. I use WPA2-AES here and it seems to work ok, but I had to put single quotes around my network key because it has some special (non-alphanumeric) characters in it.

And I think you need to enclose your SSID in single quotes ie. 'My SSID has spaces' or change your SSID to something easier (no spaces or special characters).
Post Reply