Page 1 of 1

Radio streaming works, ping and wget don't

Posted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:32 am
by dija
Hi,

while my serial port still doesn't work, I tried to go on without it and got everything working nicely!

Next thing I tried is to give my 500gp v2 a static ip outside the DHCP range of my router. And after some tweaking this works...almost. I can now hear radio streams and ssh to the 500gp wirelessly, but for some reason I can't wget or ping internet adresses (pinging my router and macbook works).

My /etc/config/network

Code: Select all

#### VLAN configuration
config switch eth0
        option vlan0    "0 1 2 3 5*"
        option vlan1    "4 5"


#### Loopback configuration
config interface loopback
        option ifname   "lo"
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   127.0.0.1
        option netmask  255.0.0.0


#### LAN configuration
config interface lan
        #option type    bridge
        option ifname   "eth0.0"
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   192.168.1.168
        option netmask  255.255.255.0

#### WAN configuration               
config interface        wan          
        option ifname   "eth0.1"     
        #option proto   dhcp         
        option proto    static       
        option ipaddr   192.168.1.169
        option netmask  255.255.255.0
        option gateway  192.168.1.1  

my /etc/config/wireless

Code: Select all

config wifi-device  wl0
        option type     broadcom
        option channel  auto #the channel your wireless network is on


        # REMOVE THIS LINE TO ENABLE WIFI:
        option disabled 0

config wifi-iface
        option device   wl0
        option network  wan
        option mode     sta #configures the router to connect to your network
        option ssid     pretty_fly_for_a_wifi
        option encryption psk2
        option key mypsswrd
I'm suspecting a firewall issue. Can anybody give me a pointer how to fix this issue?

Re: Radio streaming works, ping and wget don't

Posted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:40 pm
by gerben
Specifying an IP outside the range of the main router seems like asking for trouble. I think the chance of address collisions is quite low on a home network. Just choose a very high number. since most routers give out IP starting at the low values.

Doesn't your main router support Static DHCP. This would give the same effect as manually setting the IP on your asus.

Re: Radio streaming works, ping and wget don't

Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:09 am
by dija
Specifying an IP-adress inside the dhcp-range lets the problem remain unchanged.

My router support static DHCP but it doesn't seem to work. I can make a rule for the 500gpv2 but it still gets each time I reboot it a new ip-address. (In case anyone is familiar with the router, I have the Alice WLAN 1421.)

By the way, if I switch to dhcp, pinging google.com works splendid but I would really like to have static ip for the radio.

Re: Radio streaming works, ping and wget don't

Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 12:15 pm
by jeroen94704
Looks like you need to add an entry for the DNS server, which is missing from your wan configuration:

option dns 192.168.1.1

or, if you want to use one of the lan interfaces instead of the wan port, add both a dns and gateway option:

option gateway 192.168.1.1
option dns 192.168.1.1

Also, about the choice of static IP address: As long as the IP address you set is within the same subnet as the router, you won't have issues. For example, I've set my own router to hand out addresses 192.168.1.100-192.168.1.255 through DHCP, allowing me to use the numbers 1 to 99 for machines with a static address.

I'm presuming this is what you are doing, since if you chose an address outside your router's subnet, things wouldn't work at all.

Hope this helps,

Jeroen

Re: Radio streaming works, ping and wget don't

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:58 am
by dija
That did do the trick. Thanks!

Interestingly the 500gp gets now first an ip-address in dhcp-range and then switches to the static ip. And it takes quite a while until I'm able to ssh wirelessly to it. Anyway now it works. :-)